western rail corridor
rail links




West=On=Track -News

Joint Statement on the Western Rail Corridor

March 18th 2010 

We welcome the forthcoming opening of the first phase of the Western Rail Corridor which will link Galway to Limerick for the first time in over 30 years. This is a major step forward for the whole western region and we compliment the Government, Iarnród Éireann and all who have brought it about.

In order to maximise the potential of the rail corridor we believe it to be imperative that the next phase should proceed without delay. The railway has recently been surveyed to Tuam and Claremorris. As costings are finalised, it has become clear that the cost of construction is now much less than the previously estimated figure of two million per mile. The project is also sustaining hundreds of highly skilled jobs and supporting balanced regional development.

In the light of this we urge the Government to continue the good work by commencing the next phase in the current year.

BMW Regional Assembly
Western Development Commission
West Regional Authority
Border Regional Authority
Atlantic Way
Ireland West International Airport Liam Scollan CEO
Mayo County Development Board
Mayo County Enterprise Board
Sligo County Enterprise Board
Galway County and City Enterprise Board
Clare County Enterprise Board
Leitrim County Enterprise Board
Most Rev John Kirby Bishop of Clonfert
Most Rev Michael Neary Archbishop of Tuam
Most Rev Martin Drennan Bishop of Galway
Most Rev William Walsh Bishop of Killaloe
Roscommon County Development Board
Mayo Vocational Educational Committee Dr., Katie Sweeney,CEO
National University of Ireland, Galway
Castlebar Chamber of Commerce
Ballina Chamber of Commerce
Ballyhaunis Chamber of Commerce
Carrick-On-Shannon Chamber of Commerce
Castlebar Chamber of Commerce
Claremorris Chamber of Commerce
Galway Chamber of Commerce
Gort Chamber of Commerce
Sligo Chamber of Commerce
Tuam Chamber of Commerce
Tubbercurry Chamber of Commerce
Westport Chamber of Commerce
Mayor Co. Roscommon Collr. Tony Ward
Mayor Co. Galway Collr. Tom McHugh
Mayor Of Galway, Collr. Declan McDonnell
Cathaoirleach Limerick City Council Collr. David Naughton
Cathaoirleach Leitrim Co. Council Collr. Tom Mulligan
Cathaoirleach Mayo Co. Council Collr. John Cribben
Cathaoirleach Donegal Co. Council Collr Brendan Byrne
Cathaoirleach Sligo Co. Council
Western Inter County Rail Committee, Chairman Collr. Michael McGreal
West on Track, Patron Dr. Micheál Mac Gréil








| Maps | About WOT | Latest News | Archive | History | Links |
| Photo Gallery| Burma Road Gallery 1981|
| Inspection of the Western Rail Corridor
Visit Our YouTube Channel
WOT facebook

Further Information Email rail @ westontrack.com

Website sponsored by Mayo Ireland Ltd

Visit the Mayo Ireland website for up to date information on County Mayo.